Songwriters Hall of Fame nominees include Jay Z, Madonna, Vince Gill

Getty Images Madonna

Find the full list of nominees here.

Songwriters become eligible for induction into the organization after having a songwriting career that spans at least 20 years.

Madonna and Jay Z, two of their respective genres' most celebrated figures, are nominees for the 2017 Songwriters Hall of Fame, the Associated Press reported Thursday.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame, which honours the masters behind the music industry's biggest hits, was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and music publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond.

Cardinal Dolan: 'Touching Moments' Between Trump and Clinton at Al Smith Dinner
And when they entered and took their seats, they did not greet each other or make eye contact, though they did shake hands later. Tradition dictates that each candidate deliver jokes and bits about one another as well as themselves, much like in a roast.

Michelle Obama shines in Versace
Speaking between dinner and the entertainment, Michelle told guests: "This has been a truly successful final state dinner ". On Tuesday she paid tribute to Italy by wearing an outrageously expensive dress designed by the world famous Italian label.

Dodgers player says Cubs fans 'can't cheer any louder' for Game 6
Add in the fact the Cubs are tearing the cover off the baseball right now and there's good reason to like Chicago in this spot. A three-run double which made it 8-1, and initially, removing Aroldis Chapman from the game who hasn't pitched since Game 2 .

The "Run This Town" hitmaker, who unveiled his debut album "Reasonable Doubt" in 1996, has since had a number of hit records, including his LP "The Blueprint" and "The Black Album", which were recognised as the greatest albums of all time by Rolling Stone magazine. The new songwriters will be inducted on June 15, 2017.

There are a slew of non-performing nominees as the Hall also announced potential inductees Kenny Nolan, Randy Goodrum, Tony Macaulay, William "Mickey" Stevenson, Allee Willis, Maury Yeston, and Paul Overstreet.

Eligible members can vote for two performing songwriters and three non-performing ones until December 16.

Others up for the prestigious honor in the "Performing Songwriters" category include Kool & the Gang's Robert "Kool" Bell, Ronald Bell and George Brown; Bread's David Gates; Bryan Adams; Madonna; George Michael; and Gloria Estefan.