Team Sky's Michal Kwiatkowski secures overall victory at Tirreno-Adriatico

Adam Yates

Overnight leader Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) retained his top spot with one stage to go, though it was far from plain sailing for his team-mates.

Michal Kwiatkowski of Team Sky became the first Pole to win the Tirreno-Adriatico seasonal warm-up cross-Italy race on Tuesday.

Kwiatkowski started the individual time trial with an advantage of three seconds over Damiano Caruso and he was quicker than the Italian rider at every time check. "I'm just happy I won today".

In the 153-kilometre-long sixth stage of the race, from Numany to Fano, on Monday, Germany's Marcel Kittel came first with a time of 3:49.54, while Slovakia's Peter Sagan came second, despite a crash which slowed him down near Fano, and Argentina's Maximiliano Richeze came third, both with the same time as Kittel.

Manchester United's Carrick to retire at end of season
Manchester United's Michael Carrick has confirmed this will be his last season as a player. We're still talking about it, to be honest, so there's nothing totally confirmed as yet.

Unlikely Tottenham player in European Team of the Week after Bournemouth victory
Not many of us marry our first, second or sixty-second love, let alone make a go of it. "To attack and dominate the game". Rather, we learn from experience, hope to get there in the end, and either do or don't.

The Voice Coaches Sing Their Take on the Rat Pack
Stephanie ultimately picked Adam because she believed he could help her embrace the feeling of songs rather than technicality. Kelly gushed, before Adam admitted she'll probably be "the one to watch" in the competition this season.

Australia's Rohan Dennis celebrates on the podium after winning the last stage of the Tirreno Adriatico cycling race, in San Benedetto del Tronto, Italy, Tuesday, March 13, 2018.

Caruso held on to second overall ahead of Team Sky's Geraint Thomas, whose time of 11mins 37 secs earned him a podium place, 32 seconds adrift of his team-mate.

The 2014 road race world champion was the fastest of the general classification contenders (GC) on the 10-kilometre race against the clock in San Benedetto Del Tronto. The Australian, who also won the closing time trial previous year, was four seconds faster than Jos van Emden and eight ahead of Jonathan Castroviejo.